What is Yog?

For living a better life one should know the art of living and understand the meaning of life. Although our first duty is to have a body free from disease but life is much more than merely having a body without ailment or a store of wealth, name and fame in the society. Life is to draw inward, establish and know the self. Bharatiya (Indian) sanskriti believes that every human soul is an integral part of the Almighty. After immense research on Yog by our great Saints and Rishis, prominent among them Maharishi Pitanjali, Bharatiya Sanskriti and Idiology also believe that to unite lf with all – pervading is Yog. We are living in such times where man is jealous and hungry of another man’s life. It is the need of time to uphold and maintain the motto of Live ‘N’ Liven, live and lend life for the entire world. Yog alone can show us the path of peace and happiness. Yog helps in making human life satisfied and balanced. It develops a right balance between human body and mind. We get physical, mental and spiritual energy through Yog.

Why Yog?

Health does not mean merely a body without diseases or ailments but a co-ordination of complete physical, mental and spiritual developments. A good health is the need of every human being and one can have a good health by doing some exercises. But among all exercises Yog is considered to be the only such exercise which by having balanced influence on the anatomy of human body, its systems and functions, keeps it healthy. Practise of Yog keeps the person far away from ailments. If sometime ailments come our way we take no time to recover because Yog creates in our body a tremendous power of resistance and that is why the body does not fall an easy pray to disease and Yog as such, enhances our work efficiency. In Yog our body is effected by Asanas, our mind and body by Pranayams ad our mind and soul are affected by Dhyan (concentration). Yog helps us in developing our personality and also living a sound and disciplined life.

Ashtang Yog

According to Maharishi Patanjali there are eight limbs of Yog.

1- Yama: For upliftment and salvation of the society.
2- Niyama: For improving one’s own behaviour and conduct.
3- Asana: For keeping healthy the anatomy of our body, its systems and functions.
4- Pranayama: For removing mental disorders and purification of the mind.
5- Pratyahar: For withdrawing our senses from the objects.
6- Dharna: For enhancing our power of concentration.
7- Dhyan: For purification of Chitt or consciousness.
8- Samadhi: It is called the Super – conscious state and is the ultimate goal of Yog.

Digital Marketer, Mumpreneur, Blogger and Business Coach.

About Rachna Gupta

Digital Marketer, Mumpreneur, Blogger and Business Coach.